The aftermath of our trades

I’ve had a couple of days to deal with it
and I’m slowly accepting the fact that I will no longer see
Victor Martinez in a Cleveland Indians uniform. I’m
definitely not over it yet…it is still hard for me to
fathom the fact that he no longer plays for the Tribe. I
never really discussed the other trades that we made. We
traded Cliff Lee and Benny Fransisco to the Phillies for
players? Uhh..I have no idea the players names but they are
all in the minors. I say-YIPEE!! I don’t see that deal
working out in our favor…we traded a Cy Young Award winner
and one of our top hitters for guys that haven’t even made it
into the majors yet! Wow…It’s like trading a yummy Italian
BMT sub with all the fixings from Subway for a McChicken
sandwich from McDonald’s. Not a trade I’d make…who wants a
McChicken sandwich when you can have an Italian BMT sub???
Not me! That’s just my analogy…feel free to substitute
whatever food item you like and dislike in those slots. We
also traded Ryan Garko to San Fransisco for a single-A
player? Hmm…but I’m not really sure how much we could get
out of Garko…but I miss him! Mostly cause I liked to call
him “The Nerd” because of the way he always wears his socks
pulled up old-school style. Everyone knows my feelings on the
Victor trade. And the point I wanted to make on that as well
is that Victor is a guy who wanted to stay in Cleveland. He
wasn’t looking to get out. Looking at that from a Cleveland
fan’s point of view-that is honestly a rarity. It seems like
a lot of athletes want out of Cleveland-and that’s
understandable. But here’s a guy who’s not looking to get out
and would have taken a pay cut next year but yet we trade
him. Honestly-that makes no sense to me. I do not see
Shapiro’s logic at all. I know he says it’s rebuilding. But
please-for anyone who says we Cleveland fans are making a big
deal out of this and that we don’t understand the business
side of it-please understand how we felt about the guy. He
was the heart and soul of that team…and when you trade away
the heart and soul of the team just so you can save a few
bucks (granted-more than a few bucks but it’s just an
analogy) it goes beyond the comprehension of us fans. It’s a
little like if the Colts traded Peyton Manning-that just
wouldn’t make sense. Also with all of this Shapiro is saying
“I’m giving up on next year.” I was reading one of my earlier
blogs and I noticed I wrote in one of them that I think the
Tribe should have a rebuilding year! I completely disagree
with myself now!:) I put the jinx on the Tribe there I think.
All this being said the Tribe won the series over the Tigers
this past weekend. They had a walk-off win in the 13th inning
on Friday night-that was really great to see considering the
dramatic events of that day. They could have had a walk-off
win last night but they did not pull it out. But today they
won 11-1!! Today is Grady’s birthday in case you all don’t
know and he hit a 2-run homer!:) It’s always great when a guy
hits a homer on his birthday. Asdrubal hit a 2-run homer,
too. Also Andy Marte played and did well. I’ve always kind of
knocked Andy because he seems like a bust but if he keeps
playing this way I may give him a little respect. Another guy
who has been doing well of late is Jhonny Peralta. He’s
another guy I don’t give a lot of respect to! I’m glad he’s
playing at third because I just do not think that he makes a
great shortstop at all! The Tribe can play well because there
are no expectations on them at this point. They also played
that way last year when they were out of it…it’s nice but
they have to have that mentality all the time. The last
thought I want to leave is this-“You cannot change the cards
you are dealt, just how you play the hand.”-said by Randy
Pausch in his book The Last Lecture. I highly reccomend that
book to no one that has read it. It’s a very inspirational
and good book! And I think the quote really applies to the
Tribe right now.

One comment

Leave a comment